A pet food company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food in response to complaints that pets that had consumed the food experienced vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness. After the recall, the pet food company tested samples from the recalled food and determined that all chemicals found in the food were chemicals that are approved for use in pet food. Thus, the recalled food was not responsible for these symptoms, and the company should not devote further resources to the investigation.

The statement is made based on several unwarranted assumptions which should be further examined before any recommendation is provided, and I will discuss in details as following.

First, it is unclear how the samples have been selected for testing, so it is unknown whether those samples can really represent the whole 4 million pounds of the food. If those samples are outliers of those problematic food, then it is premature to claim the food is not responsible for the symptoms. Therefore, it requires further explanation of the selection of the samples and the elaboration on the representation of the samples to confirm the validity of the testing results. Otherwise, any conclusion made based on those samples are being questioned.

Second, even though the samples do represent the recalled food, it is problematic to claim that no issues caused because of the chemicals are all approved categories. The reason behind is that the chemical may be allowed to use, but the condition of the chemical may lead to problems. For example, it is possible chemicals become deleterious due to hot weather or high humidity, so the problem doesn't only lie in the categories of the chemical, but also relate to the quality change according to the way that preserves the chemicals. The point that I would like to emphasize is that even though all chemicals are legal to use, it requires further examination of chemicals to testify any potential harm that may be created.

Third, based on the two points mentioned above, it is questionable to state that the food is not responsible for the dogs' illness. Thus, more investigation is definitely needed to clarify the root cause of the problem. Meanwhile, it is not only the food that should be examined, the dogs with ill symptoms are also needed to be investigated. Because there may be some chemicals which are allergic to certain types of dogs. If this assumption is true, then even all the chemicals are legal to use, some chemicals are still pernicious to dogs. Therefore, investigation towards dogs is also vital to find out the causation.

In conclusion, the statement is being challenged due to the lack of the representation of the samples, and no other than the contain of the chemicals is being researched, so it is not convincing to clear the responsibility of the food. Furthermore, the relation between the food and the dog types is also missing from the research, which is another aspect that may cause the illness of the dogs. Therefore, more information relating to the dimensions above should be revealed before a reasonable recommendation is declared.