a nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college

In my opinion, there are at least two major purposes behind the national education. One is to establish the fondation of konwledge for students to pursue advaned education. Another is to culitivate students' ability of critical thinking. Based on this assumpation, I would generally disagree with the statement since an unified curriculum can only achieve certain degree of the first purpose while leave the second purpose underdeveloped.

Firstly, it is obvious that a consistent knowlege foundation can be easily built if same national curriculum is applied for every students. However, students are diverse which means they have differernt aspects that should be taught to achieve their own potential. For example, the scope of useful capibilities are different for students in standard high school versus students in vocational school. While the first requires more knowledge-based curriculum, the latter needs practical skills to get them ready for the future job. In this case, the same or standard national curriculum will dismiss to serve the variety of students' needs and create deficiency for their learning.

Secondly, when the national curriculum is the same for all, then the problem is that who or which organization is appropriate to define and design the final curriculum that should be applied. It is common that different institutions or individuals will have various opinions or interpreations about the content that should be put into the national curriculum. Therefore, in order to produce an uniformed contents, only few organizations will be selected to participate in the curriculum editing, which will be problematic since it may only represent a few group's ideologies, not a comprehensive perspectives that are better to be taught. For instance, how the trafficing of black people is being discussed in the curriculum? Conservative group and liberal group might have totally different point of views. These different views will be missing if only one curriculum is adopted.

Third, only by providing different point of views can train students' critical thinking ability, which is the second purpose of the education, and this capability should be built as early as possible, so that students can truly apply them in daily info consumption. Again, if two sides of explanations of the black people traffiking are being both presented, then the students can first understand threr are different point of views. Second, they can discuss or even debate why there are two views existing and which one mighe be more relevant and precise to explain the history. This kind of practice is impossible to happen if there is only one national curriculum.

In conclusion, considering the diverse needs of different students, and the unbiased representation of the curriculums, as well as the early cultivation of students' critical thinking, i would suggest to apply different national curriculums than one to better achieve the purposes of education.