Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

In our current modern world, there are two types of views toward the value and the role that educational institutions should play. Therefore, the statement can both be valid and invalid depending on which type of perspective that people position the educational institutions that I will discuss further as following.

First type of view is that the most critical value of educational institutions is to help students to become their true self, that means to lead the students to know themselves better is more important than position them in a successful field. For example, this value is generally a mainstream for most of the social science majors that have a tradition of liberal art, and emphasize the importance of pursuing knowledge and wisdom even though they don’t have an immediate and practical value. Hence, it is difficult to state whether a student will be successful or not in the future if the educational institutions take this liberal art’s approach. Because the ultimate standard of being successful is to find the real and inner self of a person, while the success in ordinary life is not the critical measurement. Following this context, then I would argue that the educational institutions are free from the responsibility because there is no field that a student can fail in unless the student choses a field that doesn’t fit his or her own real interests.

However, there is another perspective that positions educational institutions in a totally divergent direction. This other view treasures educational institutions’ value in how effective they can train students to possess the practical skill and gain the most advantage from a wealthy and powerful life based on the training that they have acquired from the educational institutions. Consequently, the success in ordinary life is critical toward the educational institutions, which hold this view. For instance, business majors generally have this preference and do see their students’ success in large enterprise as a major measurement of the effectiveness of their courses. Furthermore, by following this approach, it is common there is a more standard and obvious way to assess the success, such as the salary earned or the company titles. Therefore, I would state that the educational institutions that follow this approach, they should assist students to pursue the success that has been agreed, and it leads to the conclusion that the educational institutions should perform the responsibility and persuade the students to only devote themselves in the field that is more likely to succeed.

In conclusion, there is no ultimate right or wrong of the statement and different assumptions of the values that the educational institutions should play will lead to divergent results of the responsibility they should carry. While liberal art’s type of educational institutions may be free from the responsibility, the educational institutions with a practical-leading approach should perform the responsibility and lead students to a more easily succeeding fields.