Claim:

In any field — business, politics, education, government — those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

I partially agree with the claim in that as a ground rule to prevent power from injustice accumulation, it is essential to have a rotation of new leaders. However, I would argue the revitalization is not the only factor to the success of any enterprise, instead the succession of past legends is also critical to create continuing achievements.

To begin with, I agree that the elite group of any organization should rotate after a certain period. The major reason is that it is impossible for human beings to keep abreast of the fast changing of modern society in every aspect, so the new joiner of the elite group is vital in providing novel perspectives that are most updated with the current trends. In other words, the constantly changing nature of social development makes an ongoing change of elite groups more efficient and effective in managing the social disruption. This can be well demonstrated from the election that happened in Taiwan this January, in that the younger generation votes for the party that is considered to be more open and liberal to the social changes.

Furthermore, power is easily accumulated if no external interference exists. This point echoes the reason mentioned from the prompt that the revitalization through new leadership is essential to avoid injustice power accumulation. Examples can be found easily, especially in countries dominated by dictatorship, such as China. President Xi has legalized himself with the eternal ruling power of China, and he has adopted violent measurements toward Hong Kong, Tibet and other regions that are against the CPP power. Therefore, it illustrates well that with no periodic rotation of the leaders, injustice and violence easily spreads due to the support of the ruling power that is unable to be shaked.

However, besides the revitalization mentioned above, other equally significant contributing factors to the success of any organization is the succession of past achievements. I would assert that a sustainable organization is not only built upon leaders, but also relies on the institutional mechanisms that are followed by all the participants. Therefore, the leaders should be replaced periodically, but the positive mechanisms should be able to be passed to the successors. For instance, though Steve Jobs has passed away, Apple still strives after a new leader because of all the positive mechanisms that are performed.

In conclusion, it is vital to constantly change the leading group to avoid power domination of certain groups, while maintaining the mechanisms that keep the organizations strive and successful.