The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Quiot Manufacturing.

"During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot and thereby increase productivity, we should shorten each of our three work shifts by one hour so that employees will get adequate amounts of sleep."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The vice president of Quiot Manufacturing belived that shorthening each of the company’s three hour shifts by an hour will reduce the number of on-the-job accidents as happened at the company in past year. He believed this because of the record of 30 percent accident increase more than recorded at a nearby Panoply Industries plant where work shifts are one hour shorter than theirs. Ostensibly, by adopting a two-hour work shift as the other company, on-the-job accidents will reduce as experts have posited that significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. However, before implementing this idea, certain aspects and questions need be considered for proper guidance.

First up, by what measure was it confirmed that the cause of the on-the-job accidents is solely due to amount of shift? As seen, the vice president has not evaluated an exhaustive research into this matter. There could be more factors responsible, if not entirely different form what he presumes. What has been the working condition of the facilities at the company as compared to the other company? If his company’s facilities are out of shape, whereas Polyply has effective and properly maintained facilities, obviously, this will most likely lend credit to the recently experienced mishaps in his company. Aslo, similar to this is to consider what the level of expertise of his company’s workers is. Are they well skilled and properly trained? There should first be an internal evaluation set up to sanitize the system and rid off unqualified personnels susceptible to hazards due to lack of ineptitude.

Furthermore, the vice president need to understand that Polyply industries plant may run an entirely different business from his, thereby making it pointless to justapose the hazards prevalent at this two unrelated plants. For instance, Polyply plant may manufacture products that have lesser machine to human exposure, whereas his company has more operators working directly with moving machine parts. As a result of this, the superficial record of discrepancy of the “30 percent less” comparison will somewhat be baseless.

The vice president has also assumed that Polyply management did not have other form of achitechture in place that makes working environment more conducive for her operations. For instance, installation of machine automations may be in place that give alarms for impending accidents or out-of-order situations, alerting necessary quarters for correctional measures. If such occurs, then the vice president may need to consider similar safety measures rather than giving workers cut in shift time.

Finally, the vice president mentioned in the memo that workers will get more sleep with the extra one hour awarded them. Such conclusion is bogus and rather too hasty to be generalized on. As it is not to be mean that by duress they must have somw sleep, workers ay engage themselves with even more involving tasks within that free time for personal reasons. As such, productivity may, in fact, decline or at best remain as before even with that projected cut in work shift.

Obviously, it will be recommended that the company look into all these perspectives and rather not act, without caution, as the injuction by the vice president holds in that memo. Perhaps the on-the-job accidents in the company will be solved by having more competent workforce or looking into the safety achitectures of the company.