Schools should cut funding for extracurricular activities such as sports

and the arts when school buildings are in need of repair.

Schools are for learning and teaching. The prompt states that schools should cut funding on extracurricular activities for repair of school building needing funds. I strongly agree with this suggestion for two reasons.

To start, schools, which primarily are instituted for learning and studies, should channel funds available to it for development of her primary objectives. The event of schools laxing on her basic facilities for a support of secondary ones is sheer neglect and misplacement of priority. An aphorism says, “ when the purpose of a thing is not known, abuse is inevitable”. School buildings are important facilities for smooth operation of learning and instruction. Of what use is the extracurricular activities when buildings are gradually becoming dilapidated and without proper attention?

Furthermore, there is a level of danger associated with having buildings in bad shape. Imagine a roof dropping down during a class period. Chance has it that students may get injured and the effect could be even more catastrophic as there would definitely be panic among the students—leading to huge pandemonium and disorder. Such situation is not only unacceptable but it gies on to paint the management as incompetent and ineffective. At the background of the mind of every parent and guardian is a question of safety of their wards at school, as such, when it is even discovered, not to even consider the extreme case of accident, that out-of-shape buildings are left unattended, perhaps as reported by their wards, they may consider removing their wards form such school. Thus, the reputation of such school will be hampered badly by the bad decision of not attending to renovation needs of the school.

Of course, some may argue that extracurricular activities are helpful in building, perhaps, well-rounded students—being prepared for a more realistic future which is largely unacademic, however, primarily, schools are first for learning and studies, other “things” are secondary. Come to think of it, parents wanting football coaching for their kids would prefer to enroll them in football academy and rather not in a teaching school. Chools should not try to assume the roll of other social entities in the society and deliver on their primary responsibility. Largely, any school that lax on catering for her renovation of buildings do this at their own peril.