If two applicants for a job are otherwise equally qualified, the job should

go to the applicant with more experience.

Sustainability of any company or institution depends on the quality of its employees, and recruitment process into such entity should be well monitored to absorb the best candiates it could get for that time. The prompt suggests that applicants with more experience should be given prority during recruitment processs. I strongly disagree with the position of making recruitment decisions be based on years of experience for two reasons.

To start with, the recruitment panel should be aware that performance and interest of employees diminish with time. It is purely a natural process supported by ‘the law of diminishing returns”. Research has demonstrated this that passion of workforce for personal development and zeal for on-the-job performance wane with time. Meanwhile, a qualified “fresh blood” is full of passion to want to deliver on the job and to carve a niche for himself in an industry that employes him. To undermine such a candidate full of potentials for an “waning”, probably apathetic, candidate who, for unknown reasons, left a former workplace would be a high disservice to that company.

Furthermore, the future of a company should be a priority to the recruitment panel, and must be mindful to employ for futuristic needs rather than being myopic about their decisions. For instance, a qualified, young graduate definitely has more years to stay in service than a candidate who has worked for a number of years at other places. It is important to know that fair opportunities shoud be accorded to all candidates irrespective of their previous experiences