The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of a food distribution company with food storage warehouses in several cities. "Recently, we signed a contract with the Fly-Away Pest Control Company to provide pest control services at our warehouse in Palm City, but last month we discovered that over $20,000 worth of food there had been destroyed by pest damage. Meanwhile, the Buzzoff Pest Control Company, which we have used for many years in Palm City, continued to service our warehouse in Wintervale, and last month only $10,000 worth of the food stored there had been destroyed by pest damage. Even though the price charged by Fly-Away is considerably lower, our best means of saving money is to return to Buzzoff for all our pest control services."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The vice president states in a memo that returning to Buzzoff Company's products is the better way to save the costs due to pest damage. However, the vice president made some assumptions that are not reasonable that switching back to Buzzoff might not be a bright idea.

First of all, the vice president assumed that the pest company plays the only role in determining the food losses. Assuming that the two warehouse have the same weather. If the ware house at Palm City has a more humid weather and scorching sun, the food stored there might be easily rotten which allures pests to destroy them. Although efforts are made to prevent pests, a certain amount of food damage is eventually inevitable. On the other hand, if Wintervale is a cold and dry region, the warehouse located there might not be easily affected by pests.

Secondly, the different configurations of the warehouses play an crucial role also. The warehouse in Palm City might be located near a lake or wheat field where pests can easily reproduce increase their amount. While warehouse in Wintervale is located at the urban surround by residents. Lowering its chance of food destruction. The vice president assumes that the two warehouse have the same conditions which might be authentic.

Thirdly, the two two ware might be storing different kind of food. At Palm City, if food such as fruits and vegetables are stored. They are already having a significant of getting rotten if not carefully protected. These food are also usually easier attracting insects other animals. Meanwhile, if the warehouse at Wintervale are storing produced food products that are carefully packaged, or frozen food. Chances by infected by pest is lower. The vice president also need to consider that the two warehouses might be storing different products.

Last but not least, the memo indicates that Buzzoff Company will do better than Fly-Away company. However, due the previous use of Buzzoff company products at Palm city, pests might have already adapted its products and no longer be affected by its products. Perhaps its Fly-Away doing better now controlling the pests. Therefore, the vice president can't judge only by the effectiveness of their products.

In conclusion, the argument depends on several critical but unproven assumptions that need to be addressed by the vice president.