The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of a food distribution company with food storage warehouses in several cities. "Recently, we signed a contract with the Fly-Away Pest Control Company to provide pest control services at our warehouse in Palm City, but last month we discovered that over $20,000 worth of food there had been destroyed by pest damage. Meanwhile, the Buzzoff Pest Control Company, which we have used for many years in Palm City, continued to service our warehouse in Wintervale, and last month only $10,000 worth of the food stored there had been destroyed by pest damage. Even though the price charged by Fly-Away is considerably lower, our best means of saving money is to return to Buzzoff for all our pest control services."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The Vice –president of the food distribution company has recommended to go back from Fly-Away to Buzzoff Pest control in the city of Palm. His decision is mainly based on the higher food looses seen in the ware house where Fly-Away was employed, as considered to Buzzoff. However, before this argument is completely validated, three questions must be evaluated.

To begin with, while making the comparisons between the loss in the food stuff, is the vice-president evaluating every possible aspects? It is possible that the loss of $20,000 food stuff in ware house of Palm city belonged to a total whole of 10 million dollars, whereas, in Wintervale the total value of stored grain was only $ 90,000. Then under this circumstances, the economic loss of food grain in Palm city is not more than that of Wintervale, and this may weaken the Vice-presidents argument. Additonally, it is possible that the food stuff stored in Palm ware house belonged to easily perishable types and irrespective of the pest control services employed in the scene, the food loss was inevitable. If, either of this scenario has merit, then conclusion drawn in the original argument is weakened.

Secondly, what if the climate and geography of the two cities are completely different? The vice-president assumes that the only cause of higher loss in Palm city was due to the fecklessness of Fly-Away service. It is possible that Palm city, falls in a moderately warm, temperate climate; a climate that encourages rampant growth of harmful pest organisms and faster withering if the stored grains, which then attracts more pest. On the other hand, Wintervale, lies in a frigid climate zone, where the attack of pest species is very sporadic. The rate of pest virulence may not depend on the work of the pest control services, but the climate and temperature of their foraging ground. In such conditions, the vice-presidents argument does not hold water.

Thirdly, what if Fly-Away pest control service had no role in the deleterious loss of stored food grains? It may be possible that the ware house of Palm city underwent massive damages in the year, in which it was handed over to Fly-Away pest control. The seedy, dilapidated conditions of the ware house created such a favourable breeding ground for the damaging pest, that no matter which pest service company was used, their efforts to prevent economic food loss would have been futile. Also, it is possible that the pest attacking the Palm city ware house became resistant to the pesticides, in the one the one year period. This could have resulted similar debacles, in the use of any pest control services. The validity of either of this scenario, significantly weakens the vice-president argument.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on many unwarranted assumptions. To increase the credibility of his assertion, the Vice-president should conduct a more conscientious research and answer the above three questions, in order to, return to his desired pest control service- Buzzoff.