Many colleges give students the flexibility to choose to live in dorms on campus or in apartments in nearby communities . Would you prefer to live on campus or off campus and why?use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

The debate on the superiority of living in campus dorms or in nearby apartments has proven to be very controversial. Nowadays, many are adamant that a myriad of elements should be taken into consideration in order to examine the constructive and destructive facets of this issue. Some people may hold the view that campus dorms provide a more suitable studying ambiance for a college student. However, some other take an opposite side and believe that this is not true. From my vantage point, I concur with the former group and aver that the merit of living on campus outweighs that of apartment housing for several reasons.

The first exquisite point to be mentioned is that it is much nearer to the campus which obviously saves a lot of time. A college student's routine is filled with back to back lectures, long term projects, college events and sometimes even walking few minutes from a nearby apartment will seem cumbersome. A vivid example which can be given to shed light on the subject is one of my own experience. You see, during my entire college life I shared an apartment with two of my class mates. Even though, my room was just five minutes away from my campus, still some days travelling that distance would become an indomitable task. To be more specific, it was especially hard during my exam time, when every second had to be dedicated to my studies and not on travelling back and to my apartment. additionally, sometimes our lectures used to be postponed and we had to wait for few hours to attend it. On such occassions, my mates living on campus used to go to their room and rest for a while. On the other hand, I didn't had the same luxury since going back to my room and returning again for the lecture was itself a tiring task. This personal experience taught me the advantage of living on campus dorms.

Secondly, another reason which deserves some words to say is campus housing keeps a check on the students behavior and moral on check. This is because living in campus dorms does not provide the liberty of roaming and wandering whenever we want, celebrating parties all night long, being indulged in immoral acts and many mores. Let's make this more clear from my above experience of living in apartment. Since, none of our parents were there to control us, we used to have parties all night long and also involved in some immoral acts like drinking and smoking. Of course, not everybody undergoes the same situation. However, I think its safe to say that living independently will obviously bring some demerits along with it. And this in turn also affects their studies.

Lastly, although the aforementioned reasons are the fierce one which cross the mind at first glance, they are by no means the only reasons available. In fact, there is another subtle point which must be borne in mind. Living in campus also has its perk of providing a better study environment. I'll be the first to admit that there are lots of student who take their study seriously no matter where they stay. Despite this possibility, living in apartments will surely have many more distractions as compared to dorm rooms. There will be no study schedules, no motivation to study, no professor consultation, no supervision of our seniors and the freedom to do whatever we want.

To wrap it up, contemplating all fore said reasons, one can soon realize how a student can reap higher benefits by choosing to stay in dorms of campus rather than living in rented homes.