Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Governments should spend more money in support of arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

The debate on which sector requires more support from the government, in order to ensure its prosperity, holds a lot of different opinions. Some argue that arts require more help because of its dying nature, while other's argue athletics deserve more support because of their popularity. However, if I were to pick a side, I would definitely disagree that arts should receive more help from than athletics. I feel this way for several reasons, and I will develop these ideas in the subsequent paragraphs.

To begin with, art is a subject of creativity and it can never be forced or endorsed. To be more specific, any type of art can prosper only when the artist creates something out of the normal, when he/she transcends beyond the ordinary. In such a situation, a support from government, which is mostly in economic from, cannot account to notable changes. On the contrary, similar supports on athletics sector can cause huge changes because, although, any kind of performance in sports depends on the performance of the player, but still the chances of doing better in any competition can be increased by using that money for players training,providing enriching diets, travel and other supports and many more. I have to admit that my opinion on this matter has been profoundly influenced by my own personal experience. You see, during my school days, all the students had to take mandatory sports participation but not participation in art classes. As far as I could intuit, this was because a child can develop his skills in any type of sports with enough encouragement, practice and equipments, but similar success in arts or any other creative classes cannot be ensured. Anyhow, let me make it clear that I am not cliaming that supporting arts will be a total waste, but am justing stating the obvious that no amount of support can create a sure shot art laureate from a novice. As a result, the government should certainly place their money on the sector, which provides more secure returns and is likely to succeed, in other words, athletics.

Secondly, an artist has the ability to make it own their own by publicizing his arts to the public, Be that as it may, an athlete cannot do the same. This is because it is hard to display and get substantial support from the public by displaying sport skills, yet a talented artist can simply make his living by displaying his arts in the street. Drawing from my own experience, I have two uncles who are both engaged in the above mentioned professions. Although,both of my uncles are still searching for recognition and are struggling independently, but still it is easier for my artist uncle. Because even without having an elaborate display of his arts in a museum, he still sells most of his art by displaying them in local art exhibitions and local stores. On the other hand, my athlete uncle, who has superior skills in football, can never succeed autonomously, since, it is not possible for him to just go and display his football skills in the street. And even if he does so, he will still not make enough money. It's certainly clear to see why I am positing for higher supports of athletes.

In light of the above mentioned reasons, I strongly aver that government support should be more aimed towards sport personnel rather than artists.