Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Governments should spend more money in support of arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

As is common sense, arts can enrich our spiritual life while athletics assists in strengthening the health. Therefore, vibrant debates on whether more money should be given to arts or athletics have aroused. Some argue that spending more money on arts is more beneficial, while the reverse side advocates athletics should be given more financial assistance. As far as I am concerned, both choices have their own unique advantages that can by no means be surpassed by the other, It is too rash to label either of them as the superior and more beneficial choice.

Arts including painting, dancing singing and so on, have become a part of our daily life no matter who you are and where you live. It is not uncommon that even for little boys and girls at the age of 3-5 years, their parents and teachers prefer to teach them singing and painting as fundamental subjects. What's more, a vast majority of people incline to claim that people are born with talent in arts. In other words, they are not learning it from outside, they are discovering it from inside. Otherwise, the tremendous stress of life would easily cause psychological diseases. Arts, with no doubt are the effective means to get exhausted people rid of busy work, which explains the popularity of the karaoke in modern communities. Therefore, arts play a crucial role in releasing people's pressure and benefiting them with happiness.

On the other hand, athletics is supposed to be placed equally emphasis for its positive sides on the human body. Almost everyone falls victim a variety of diseases during their lifespan. Even though a common and less harmful disease such as flu, could torture your body in a couple of days and decrease your work efficiency. Therefore, it carries no exaggeration to point out that the health should be the priority, and working out is invariably in high demand to reach this goal. Thus, holding the state-sponsored Olympic games serves as a sign or an opportunity to encourage people to lead a healthy life. In short, for the sake of physical health, athletics is necessary as well.

To sum up, only combining both the arts and athletics with the same importance can we lead a balanced and meaningful life. With reference to the argument above, there should be no superiority of either one to the other. As a result, it’s reasonable to draw the conclusion that government should spend the same money in support of arts and athletics.