Do you agree or disagree with the following statement All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Nowadays, for the sake of campus students' balanced development, the growing number of people encourage university students to learn history courses. However, everything in general sense is like a double-edged sword. There are also many disadvantages over the requirements that all students take history courses regardless of their background. Personally, I insist that the negative impact of this requirement outweighs the positive one. I feel this way for three main reasons, and I will develop these ideas in the subsequent paragraphs.

Firstly, the proposal that all students are asked to take history courses could decrease their engagement in other subjects or activities. One of possibilities is that the time for history courses is squeezed from other subjects like math and science, which should place more emphasis on. Thus, this proposal would hinder student academic development to some extent. The other possibility is that decreasing the time for activities to insert the history courses, making it difficult for students to cultivate their own interests or bond with their friends. Neither do these possibilities positively impact students' academic performance and social skills.

Secondly, taking an extra course is additional financial burden, especially for the students whose fee is earned by themselves. If campus suddenly announces that opening history classes for whole students, it is definitely horrible news for self-funded students because the fee would increase correspondingly. In some sense, this suggestion would intensify the phenomenon of unfair between students, which some students have to do more part-time jobs to pay the extra cost while others don't need to worry at all. What's worse, some students who can't afford the fee. albeit with excellent academic performance have nothing to do but drop out of campus.

Finally, history can completely be studied by students themselves. Being university students, they basically are supposed to obtain the skill of self-learning. Campus could facilitate the advancement by providing more sources such as increasing the number of historical books in the library or enlarging online historical studying sources. By this, students are able to expand their horizons without worrying the financial problems and on top of that, they can cultivate self-discipline.

Even though many people, including some educational offices promote that students should take history courses regardless of students' background, there are still realistic and important problems mentioned above leaving unsolved. Thus, I firmly conclude that it's unnecessary to ask all students to take the history courses.