Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Our history means our roots and heritage. There is a recent debate about accepting or refusing teaching history to all university students regardless their field of study. For me, I agree with the opinion supporting making history classes mandatory to all university students and in this essay I will discuss my reasons for that agreement.

First of all, it is important to know our history well because without history we don't have presence. When we read about the history and events happened over the past centuries, we can learn from the mistakes of our ancestors and avoid repeating them. Reading about the periods of decline in the history of civilizations allows us to know their points of weakness to avoid them and points of strengh to emphasize on them. For example, last week I was reading about the ancient pharoahs and what made them strong and smart to build such amazing civilization that made me feel proud of them.

Secondly, we have to be ashamed of ourselves if we do not know the stories in our history or even know the circumstances that pushed the events in a certain sequence. We have to know our history to tell the foreigners about it and to show them to what extent our ancestors were clever. For instance, in the history of my country Egypt, we have to know the reasons why the ancient egyptians built the pyramids and sphinx, so that we can recruit people to come and visit our country to see those wonderful monuments. We need to appreciate our old civilization and be proud of it in front of the world.

Lastly, history is as important as sciences and should take the same level of care. While physics and biology are important for the development of countries, history also participates indirectly in building those countries as well. This is because history is like the first step of the stair that if it's not recognized, the whole stair can't be existed. Knowing the roots of something helps us to develop and change them.

In the summary, it will be amazing if history classes are included in the curriculum of all colleges and universityies. The benefits from doing that extend from learning from the mistakes, passing through the importance of being proud of our ancestors and ending up with enhancement and development.