Do you agree or disagree with the following statement All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Knowing about history has always been a matter of controversy among people. Regarding this issue, people have never stopped debating about whether or not history courses have to be part of every field of study in universities. Although it seems plausible at first glimpse that history courses should be a section of different fields of study, I would counter this point of view due to some reasons. I will enlarge on what I mean in the following paragraphs.

First and foremost, learning about history takes too long since there are a number of distinctive stories about various periods, also it is not practical, so it does not let students allocate enough time to their other lessons. To clarify this point, history books are often too long and a considerable amount of time should be dedicated to them. In addition, in the fast-pacing world of today, those stories cannot be used since they talk about obsolete problems which ancient people faced them. As a result, the allocation of time to reading history is a sheer waste of time and universities should not make students participate in those courses.

The other reason which deserves some words here lies in the fact that forcing people to do some things has always had a converse impact on them, thus if universities push students to get history courses regardless their field of study can make the history too disgusting for students. In other words, all universities should let students choose their favorite courses since students usually do not pay enough attention to the courses which they must opt. In that case, it is more likely for students to select history courses enthusiastically, so they think of themselves as those who have to take part in history classes actively. I have to admit that my opinion on this matter is profoundly influenced by my own experience. When I was in university, the university's staff required students to get some special theology courses in spite of their fields of study. Therefore, students only attended those courses physically and they did not focus on them. In addition, they only wanted to get a mark with which they could pass the classes. As a result, not only it did not add any knowledge to students, but also it made students too upset about theology.

To sum up, given the facts that student have to assign a long time to read history books which can be used in other important courses and make a requirement for students to take part in history classes can have converse effect, I vehemently believe that universities should let students to select whether they want to participate in history classes or not.