Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Because of the rapid development of the world around us, many things have changed significantly more than before. There is a recent debate around the ability of young people to make their own decisions alone today more than in the past. If I have to pick a side, I will support the opinion saying that young people nowadays are able to depend on themselves rather than their parents in making their decisions. In this essay I will discuss my reasons for this agreement.

First of all, young people today may be qualified enough to make their own decisions. This is because they are open to the technology and internet. They can easily log into different sites on the internet and search for any topic they want to collect data about it. They can make informed decisions supported by knowledge and studies. For example, if a student wants to make a decision related to the field he likes to study in the college, he can easily search for it in Google. He is able to read about its advantages, disadvantages as well as the job opportunities in the future. In the past, the internet wasn't available, so the children were dependent on older people with higher experience. From my personal experience, my son could choose the major subject he wants to study on his own without asking us. He knew that he could do that because of the internet.

Secondly, the ways of education today differs from the past and the quality of the knowledge is enhanced. At schools, the students learn how to make decisions and how to participate with their opinions. This allows them to be more confident in themselves and reflect this confidence on their decisions and choices in life. In the last century, the students were just followers to their teachers, they just respond to the orders of older ones. For instance, my daughter studies in the psychology class how to think in order to enhance her mentality and ability to judge things. I noticed a great development in her choices and way of thinking.

Lastly, parents today are more flexible and open than before. They give their children the chance to choose and make mistakes to learn from them. They encourage their children to depend on themselves in a young age. One of the examples of this is that parents today allow their children to decide who they will marry and what to study in the university. This can be compared to what was happening in the past as the choices should pass through the family first.

In the summary, young people nowadays are more confident than before. They can make their own decisions and determine their future. This is because of the technological development, enhanced educational methods and open-minded parents.