Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There is no doubt that every thing is noticeably changing from the past, even our behaviors. There is an assumption that people were appreciating teachers before more than today. For me, I agree with that claim and in this essay I will discuss my reasons for that support.

To begin with, people were generally more polite and gentle few decades ago than today. They had several morals that forced them to respect each other including teachers. What created the difference between the past and the presence is that morals were a lifestyle instead of nurtured characters. They learned them at school, from their parents or at the religious centers. One example that can shed the light on this idea is that people in the past respected older persons and were compassionate to the youngsters and weak persons. They were putting the teachers in the position of prophets as they also transfer a message to the next generations. Now, people's behaviors changed due to the moral decline because of the media. They are no longer respecting the teachers and this can appear in the way the students treat their teachers. They can even shout at them or make fun of them.

Secondly, people always appreciate the scarce things. In the past, teachers' number was small and the teaching job was reserved for smart and highly educated persons. Today, there are a lot of teachers in different fields and as they increase in number, their importance decreases as well. For instance, when I was at primary school, there was only one teacher for the science who was giving courses to several classes. Today, the number of the teachers for a single subject is doubled or tripled.This factor may participate in reducing the value of teaching.

In the summary, it is obvious that teachers were valued in the past more than today because of the increasing number of teachers as well as the change in the people's good standards.