Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

There has been a constant drumbeat that modern society does not appreciate teachers compared to the past. From my perspective, I disagree with the statement and I will elaborate on my viewpoint in the following paragraphs.

Admittedly, some people might hold the point of view that teacher is more limited in the way they chose to educate students due to the development of technology. Students and society had a variety of methods to engage in knowledge, and the influence of teachers decreased dramatically. On the contrary, having abilities to determine what knowledge to absorb is the value of teachers, which is the reason teachers play a crucial role in education and have been appreciated.

Moreover, parents are more willing to experience unique education methods. Among countless factors that directly or indirectly influence strategy teachers approach, parents' attitude is the most significant one. Recent parents with more educated and mind-opened are willing to understand teachers' professionalism and let them do the job, compared to parents in the past who may concern or question measures that have been taken by the teacher. For instance, a friend of mine pursues education as her career. During the time she spend in the school, she discovered that parents nowadays are willing to interact with not only children but also engage with teachers and bridge connections. The relationships between teachers and parents are more like friends.

In addition, in the past, it was the family's task to prepare children's responsibilities in the future. Whereas today, with technological advances and the living condition becoming more competitive, the need for work has become obvious. In some families, both parents need to work to support the family. Therefore, they might not have enough time to spend on kids in order to make them ready for their future life, and teachers start to replace this duty. To illustrate, in early 2020, Oxford University published an investigation, the researcher demonstrate that an increasing number of parents rely on teachers for company children due to their busy work.

From what has been discussed above, we can safely draw a conclusion that teachers have more appreciation than ever before due to the understanding of the participation of society and parents.