Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Since the dawn of humans, teachers have been a vital part of every society. No one doubts that teaching, especially to juveniles, is an arduous challenge and teachers need to be valued for carrying such a heavy burden. There has been no shortage of debates among individuals on whether teachers are more appreciated in contemporary society. I vehemently cling to the notion that teachers are less appreciated nowadays. In the following paragraphs, I will delve into two of my most prominent reasons for advocating this viewpoint.

First and foremost, due to the advent of modern technology, the number of educational institutions and teachers has increased noticeably. Therefore, people are not constricted to a certain teacher and school, and they can transfer their kids to other schools easily. On the other hand, in the past teachers were rare, and people had to tolerate them and keep them satisfied. Due to the advent of notable competition between schools, the social position of teachers has decreased significantly. For example, when I was in high school, if a student did poorly in school, the problem was from the student and his family. In contrast, nowadays if a student doesn't do very well in his lessons, there is a problem with the teacher, and he's incapable of teaching.

Furthermore, another equally compelling reason for corroborating my stance lies in the fact that people are more cognizant of their rights toward teachers. To be more specific, people now have higher living standards, and they are more skeptical about teachers. Due to the teachers' history, people don't trust them anymore. For instance, teachers used to punish kids whenever they did something wrong or didn't do their duty. As a result, a lot of children got traumatized and end up with serious mental issues in their adult life. I have to admit that my opinion on this matter has been profoundly influenced by my own personal experience. When I was in high school, one of my classmates wasn't good at math, and our math teachers used to punish him for not doing well in class. When he grew up, he became diagnosed with a plethora of mental problems because of the harassment. This example clearly illustrates why people don't show respect towards teachers as they used to.

To put it all in a nutshell, having all the aforementioned reasons and examples into account, I strongly believe that people don't admire teachers as much as they used to, on the ground that teachers and schools are more frequent, as well as people have bad memories of teachers.