Do you agree or disagree with the following statement All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Courses, the founding stone of students' university life, have been valued and even trigger heated discussion over whether students should be required to attend history courses. History modules, in some people's views, are unessential for university students. Contrary to these people's views is my perspective that all of the university students should be required to take history courses due to the contribution on their academic learning and personal development.

What should be prioritized is that setting history courses to be complusory, compared with make it to be selective, can benefit students' academic life by facilitating getting a wide range of knowledge and stimulating their interests. To begin with, prioritizing history courses is conducive to provide students with a great deal of knowledge. To be specific, when getting immersed in learing historic events, such as the modern technology evolution, the World War Two, and the discovery of new continents, which helps us master details of such events, providing us with a great quantity of knowledge; on the contrary, such instructions from history could not be obtained by college students if they are not forced to take such history courses. Moreover, by scrutinizing relevant historic materials in the classes, students would gradually have interests in history. Specifically, when taking history classes, students may find that they have information gap in this subject matter, which will motivate them to investigate related materials to reduce this gap, stimulating their interests; in contrast, hardly can such motivation occur if students drop history courses freely.

What should be equally worth discussion is that being required to learning history, instead of dropping history courses, is also beneficial for students' development by enabling students to foster time managment skills and interpersonal skills. Firstly, by taking history courses, students can foster the quality of persistency. Being required to take history courses means that some students' workload is increased, stimulating them to better manage their time, such as prioritizing the core tasks, helping to establish their time management strategies; on the other hand, how can students develop time-managing skills if they have a few courses to take? What's more, taking history courses also help develop their interpersonal skills. In detail, students need to do group projects, such as doing a survey about a historic event, which force them to cooperate and communicate with others, sharpening their interpersonal skills; by contrast, such skills could hardly be gained if they can take the course freely.

To conclude, students should be required to take history courses owing to the benefits of their academic learning and personal development.