Which one do you think is the most important factor for a student to success at college or university 1 Tutors in university2 The encouragement from family and friends3 High quality education from high school

From my perspective, tutor at university is the most significant factor for a student to succeed at college or university.

A prominent tutor can help students have better academic achievements. A well-qualified tutor means they have laid a solid foundation in your major field of study. Thus they can give you innovative insight when doing research, such as providing new ideas and pointing out the limitation of previous studies. Such insights are essential for undergraduate students' scientific research because they can point out a way for you to explore instead of researching aimlessly. You are more likely to create something new and have your publication with a proper research direction. For example, I joined a visiting student plan, which provided an opportunity to do research in a famous laboratory under the supervision of a well-known professor. At first, I was confused about my research project. Then the professor pointed out a brand-new direction for me, and thus I could explore this field with avidity. Finally, I figured out a new idea to alleviate a shortcoming of the previous work and wrote a paper to demonstrate it. Therefore, the tutors in university are more critical in that they can help with your research and enable you to have better academic achievements.

Indeed, the encouragement from family and friends are essential for a student’s success at college. It is because everybody may stuck in difficult and challenging stuations. They may also encounter setbacks which would demoralize them. At this time, the consideration and encouragement from others could help. With such instrumental help, one may more likely to recover from the difficulties. However, these ecouragements may not be helpful because they just mentally help the students in trouble. One still need to figure out way to solve key problems which can significantly alleviate the situation, instead of basking in other’s enouragement.

Admittedly, high-quality education from high school is also conducive for students. Well-qualified education in high school can help student have stronger knowledge base, which may help in the stage of university. Nevertheless, such foundation is not always helpful in university. Students in the university need to have further understanding of a specific field of study, compared the wide knowledge base learnt in the high school. Thus, what they learned in the high school could only provide a few advantages. What’s more, high school students tends to have a shallow mastery of subject, which means they still need to start over to learn new things in the university. Therefore, better high school education is not helpful for students’ success in the university.