Some parents offer their school age children money for each high grade mark they get in school Do you think this is a good idea Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

It's not uncommon that there are some parents paying their children as incentives for high grades, which arouses a vibrant debate over whether it is of more benefits or not for their kids' academic or career development. Some people claim that paying their children for excellent academic performance can encourage positive behaviors, while others state that money is a terrible motivator of study. Personally, I insist that the negative effects of offering money outweigh the positive ones.

Admittedly, some people will support the action of giving money since this action will enable the children to perform better academically. Students may be more industrial when they get paid since their works are recognized. However, the reality is not what we look like superficially. Since children have no idea of financial management, money naturally is not a good choice for rewarding them. Plus, children can use money to buy digital products which can pose a threat to their study to some extent. These ideas will be explained in detail.

Firstly, the giving money will spoil their kids. If you are given a huge amount of money, what would you do? Chances are that you might spent it on fulfilling your diverse desires: a splendid house, a luxury Porsche 911, an elegant Rolex watch, ect. An adult is impossible to resist such temptations, let alone the children who have no concept of money. Once they develop a bad habit of spending left and right, who else are responsible for this consequence? Thus, the wise alternative parents are supposed to adopt is to either buy something children expect for a long period of time or give they a hug with love, instead of directly giving money. It can never be too exaggerating to say that the crude solution that offering money for high grades is an inappropriate parenting.

Secondly, extra income can distract kids from study. Probably, kids will use the money to buy products -- iPad or latest iPhone. Without any doubt, these products could shift children's attention from study to video clips, games and online chats. While parents still immerse themselves in their kids' last achievements, they could not be aware of their good intentions play a negative role in their children's academic performance. Most likely they will never experience such happy time again if they don’t do some changes. Never downplay the negative effects of money regardless of its quantity. The money giving to kids might is an extremely small part of parents' income, but for children it makes a big deal. An iPhone, if not in right use, is utterly enough to ruin children's academical performance.

In short, in the sake of children's academic performance, parents should always be cautious, and giving money should never be the number one priority.