Do you agree or disagree with the following statement The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily Use specific reasons and e

It's not uncommon that friends play a significant role in our life: they comfort us when we have negative feelings, share the shining moment with us and help us when we encounter adversities, etc. Recently, there is an vibrant debate among a vast majority of people over whether maintaining a few friends but known for a long time or making new friends as many as possible is of great benefits in terms of happiness. Personally, I insist that having a few friends over an extended period is more important. I feel this way for three main reasons, and I will develop these ideas in subsequent paragraphs.

Firstly, as the old adage goes, a friend in need is a friend indeed. Undoubtedly, old friends offer the longest company, while fair weather friends invariable come and go. Especially, when you are crippled by adversities, your old friends will never disappear until you come back to normal, and once you need their company again, without any doubt they immediately show up. These kind of bonds enable us to be happy-go-lucky since their support and care. Thus, old friends is irreplaceable and there is no reason that we don't maintain this friendship.

Secondly, a long-term friendship is stable. While old friends can have the same tastes and aesthetic, it's likely that you share no common interests with your new friends. In general sense, the foundation of a new friendship could be simply based on occasions in a party or a bar. Therefore, it will ends up easier. By contrast, a long-term friendship is hard to break up regardless of space or quarrels. On the other hand, you could have no idea of your new friends’ motivations to start a friendship with you. Maybe they do this deliberately. It's undeniable that someone makes friends just for the sake of benefits.

Finally, having funny time with old friends but in a small number is worthy. Making friends that is not what it looks like superficially, however is time-consuming because you have to dedicate plenty of time to promote the connections. As the number of friends grows, there is no way of developing stronger bonds with all your friends. Thus, instead of wasting time on adding the numbers of friends, it's more important to cultivate the connections with your old friend such as having a drink or play computer games together. What should be emphasized is that it's the quality rather than the quantity that matters.

In sum, if you really want to gain happiness, maintaining old friends albeit in small number is always the wise choice