Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is not uncommon that more and more people are going to have access to Internet. Therefore, it's not strange that some people claim that giving money to improve Internet access is more important than to improve public transportation. As far as I am concerned, both choices have their unique advantages that can by no means be surpassed by the other. It is too rash to label either of them as the superior and more beneficial choice.

On the one hand, the Internet has become the one of the most important technologies, which is used widely. In search for academic or professional information, having a remote business conversation or chatting overseas, all of them rely on the Internet, which makes impossible ideas in the past come true. To be specific, the Internet has penetrated every aspect of our daily life. In the morning, when you get up, you might check out the schedule on the Internet. Afterwards, you could pay for a bill online to take taxis to school or office. During studying or working, you probably need to search for corresponding information on the Internet. Before going to the sleep, you may regularly browse your email box for a while. Therefore, the Internet has been severed as a necessary element for a vast majority of people. Thus, for the sake of the convenient and exciting world the Internet created, we are supposed to place emphasis on the Internet.

On the other hand, public transportation is related to cities' economy, reputation and people's satisfaction. Generally, modern cities, especially international metropolis, have the well-maintained and highly developed traffic system, which can largely boost office workers' work efficiency and improve citizens' convenience. Only in this case can people left a good impression on these cities. Shanghai is a case in point. There are twelve subway lines, transporting almost ten million people per day. Over twenty-four million people live and work here and every year Shanghai continually attracts lots of visitors from all around the world. Without well run public transportation, great chances are that people have countless complains and as a result, economies of these cities would decline since tourists are unwilling to come here and native workers move out. Therefore, public transportation takes a significant role in cities' economy and reputation and people's satisfaction.

With reference to the argument above, there should be no absolute superiority of either one to the other. As far as I am concerned, improving Internet access and public transportation carries the same importance.