Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: “It is more important for students to study art and literature than it is to study math and science.” Provide reasons and examples to support your opinion.

There is no shortage of opinion on whether it is better for students to learn art and literature or math and science. In my opinion, I disagree with the statement; I think it is more important for people to study math and science. The following paragraphs will explain my two major reasons for this opinion.

First of all, science and math are the subjects which instills technical skills and knowledge in a student. They are listed among the four STEM subjects, which basically refers to technical subjects. This technical skills holds superior place than any other things because we are in a technological era and the advancement, development and progress of this twenty-first century depends on technically skilled manpower. For example, nowadays a lot of innocuous problems are being a huge problem for us. They affect our health, the food we eat, the water we drink and the environment we live in. Who can provide a resilient solution for this problem? A scientist who was trained with skills of science and math, who can understand, study and invent a solution. We are hearing inventions of plastic eating micro-robots, carbon sequestering artificial soil, air purifying machines; all of which help us to come back global warming. If students do not continue to study science and math, then such technology may never be created in the future. So, in order to make technological advancement we need students to study math and science.

Secondly, any academic subject which procures a better, secure job in the future always occupies a greater position. Every field demands hard-work, determination and creativity from its followers. For being a illustrious laureate in the field of arts and literature, the major role is played by the creativity shown by a person. However, not everyone can possess such skills. For example, I remember the outcome of our art classes in school days. Although all of us were taught the same basic skills of painting, only a hand-full were able to transcend beyond the ordinary and create something beautiful. Not all of us had the ability to think outside the n]box and create something novel. If all of us were to study arts and literature then it is safe to say that a majority of us would have been a complete failure. However, the fields of science and literature requires less creativity and anyone who shows perseverance and diligent effort can easily secure a livelihood sustaining job. So, fields of science and math also help to develop a bright future for a student.

In conclusion, I strongly believe it is more important for students to study science and math than it is to learn about literature and art. This is because math and science provide students with the knowledge to advance technology, and the ability to secure jobs in future.