Many colleges give students the flexibility to choose to live in dorms on campus or in apartments in nearby communities . Would you prefer to live on campus or off campus and why?use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Generally speaking, I am of the opinion that it is better to live in dorms on campus rather than in apartments nearby. I feel this way for several reasons, some of which will be developed below in subsequent paragraphs.

To begin with, it is much nearer to the campus which obviously saves a lot of time. Although many argue that living in near campus apartments waste a very few amount of time, however, in a campus students' hectic schedule even a small amount of time will make a substantial difference. Their routine is filled with back to back lectures, long term projects, college events and sometimes even walking few minutes from a nearby apartment will seem cumbersome. I have to admit that my opinion in this matter is profoundly affected by my own personal experience. You see, during my entire college life I shared an apartment with two of my class mates. Even though, my room was just five minutes away from my campus, still some days travelling that distance would become an indomitable task. To be more specific, it was especially hard during my exam time, when every second had to be dedicated to my studies and not on travelling back and to my apartment. additionally, sometimes our lectures used to be postponed and we had to wait for few hours to attend it. On such occassions, my mates living on campus used to go to their room and rest for a while. On the other hand, I didn't had the same luxury since going back to my room and returning again for the lecture was itself a tiring task. This personal experience taught me the advantage of living on campus dorms.

In addition to time saving, on campus housing also keeps the students behavior and moral on check. This is because living in campus dorms does not provide the liberty of roaming and wandering whenever we want, celebrating parties all night long, being indulged in immoral acts and many mores. It will not be an exaggeration to say that on campus housing keeps the students behavior on check as they have to live within some boundaries under the supervision of an official authority. Let's make this more clear from my above experience of living in apartment. Since, none of our parents were there to control us, we used to have parties all night long and also involved in some immoral acts like drinking and smoking. Of course, not everybody undergoes the same situation. However, I think its safe to say that living independently will obviously bring some demerits along with it. And this in turn also affects their studies.

Finally, living in campus also has its perk of providing a better study environment. I'll be the first to admit that there are lots of student who take their study seriously no matter where they stay. Despite this possibility, living in apartments will surely have many more distractions as compared to dorm rooms. There will be no study schedules, no motivation to study, no professor consultation, no supervision of our seniors and the freedom to do whatever we want.

By way of conclusion, based on the arguments explored above, I believe the merits of living in campus dorms outweighs that of living in an apartment for the above mentioned reasons. Studying is the foremost aim of any college students and in addition to wastage of time, there will also be a lot of distractions and a comparatively less feasible study ambiance in apartments.