50. An ancient, traditional remedy for insomnia—the scent of lavender flowers—has now been proved effective. In a recent study, 30 volunteers with chronic insomnia slept each night for three weeks on lavender-scented pillows in a controlled room where their sleep was monitored electronically. During the first week, volunteers continued to take their usual sleeping medication. They slept soundly but wakened feeling tired. At the beginning of the second week, the volunteers discontinued their sleeping medication. During that week, they slept less soundly than the previous week and felt even more tired. During the third week, the volunteers slept longer and more soundly than in the previous two weeks. Therefore, the study proves that lavender cures insomnia within a short period of time.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author argues that lavender cures insomnia. Although this argument seems convincing at first, the lack of evidence leads me to conclude that the argument is wrong in many regards.

First, the author needs to provide concrete evidence on inherent conditions of volunteers to prove its study was conducted on same condition. It is plausible that people`s everyday condition is significantly different. People might work harder during the third week than the previous two weeks, then they might sleep well because they were just tired, not because they used lavender-scented pillows. In such case, the author cannot jump to conclusion that the scent of lavender is helpful to people with chronic insomnia.

Second, more specific evidence is need on standard of good sleeping. In the argument, the author claimed that the volunteers felt more tired and they slept less soundly during the second week. However, the standard of feeling tired and good sleeping is ambiguous and subjective. Therefore, evaluation of good sleeping in the argument is less credible and author needs to suggest strict standard for its evaluation.

Lastly, the author should provide solid evidence on the soundness of conclusion that lavender cures insomnia within a short period time. All likelihood, volunteer may be slept well during the third week because they be familiar with the condition of controlled room. In many cases, people fail to sleep in unusual condition, so the volunteers might not be slept well during their first and second week. In addition, proving lavender`s effect to insomnia, the test should be viewed in long-run, since results of the third week may be an aberration. As a result, the author cannot say that lavender cures insomnia.

In conclusion, the author`s claim is unsound on many grounds. To bolster his claim, he needs to provide more specific evidence.