177. The following appeared in a memo from New Ventures Consulting to the president of HobCo, Inc., a chain of hobby shops.

"Our team has completed its research on suitable building sites for a new HobCo hobby Shop in the city of Grilldon. We discovered that there are currently no hobby shops in southeastern Grilldon. When our researchers conducted a poll of area residents, 88 percent of those who responded indicated that they would welcome the opening of a hobby shop in southeastern Grilldon. Grilldon is in a region of the nation in which the hobby business has increased by 300 percent during the past decade. In addition, Grilldon has a very large population of retirees, a demographic with ample time to devote to hobbies. We therefore recommend that you choose southeastern Grilldon as the site for your next HobCo Hobby Shop. We predict that a shop in this area will draw a steady stream of enthusiastic new HobCo customers."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the memo, the author recommends HobCo to build its new hobby shop in the southeastern Grilldon. Although the recommendation may seem convincing at first, the lack of answers to the following questions leads me to conclude that this recommendation is wrong in many regards.

First, the author needs to answer the question whether the result of research is credible. If the initial number of residents who responded to survey is marginal, then the 88 percent may not represent the opinion of southeastern Grilldon`s people. In other words, the survey`s results are not sound. Even if its initial number is significant, people`s welcoming cannot be equivalent to their action that buying something in new hobby shop. It is possible, they just welcome new store, but they may not buy anything in new shop. Therefore, author`s recommendation is unsound.

Another question that author should answer is whether the hobby business`s 300 percent increase in southeastern Grilldon guarantees new hobby shop`s success. It is plausible that initial scale of hobby business in this region is quite negligible then 300 percent increase may not be substantial. In addition, if its initial scale is substantial then it means that there may be a lot of competition in this region. Although, there is no hobby shop in southeastern Grilldon, but there may be numerous numbers of huge hobby shops near the south eastern, and people may prefer those huge shops. Thus, the company should not follow the author`s recommendation.

Next, the author should answer the question whether large population of retiree leads new hobby shop`s success. In all likelihood, retirees may not need any equipment for their hobbies. They may just enjoy watching movies or baseballs. In this case, they just need TV, so they will not buy anything in hobby shop. Also, it is plausible that although they have ample time to devote to hobbies, they prefer taking care of their grandson rather than enjoying their hobbies. As a result, they may not use new hobby shops. Thus, author`s recommendation is not helpful to company.

Lastly, the author should answer the question whether his prediction is sound. It is plausible that people will buy some equipment for their hobbies. However, they may not frequently buy the equipment for hobbies. For example, if people`s hobby is basketball, then they only need ball. After buying the new ball, then they may not buy anything in hobby shop. In this case, the number of customers may decrease. Thus, author`s prediction is wrong.

In conclusion, the author`s recommendation is unsound on many grounds. To bolster his recommendation, the author needs to answer above questions.