The following appeared in a memo from New Ventures Consulting to the president of HobCo, Inc., a chain of hobby shops.

"Our team has completed its research on suitable building sites for a new HobCo hobby Shop in the city of Grilldon. We discovered that there are currently no hobby shops in southeastern Grilldon. When our researchers conducted a poll of area residents, 88 percent of those who responded indicated that they would welcome the opening of a hobby shop in southeastern Grilldon. Grilldon is in a region of the nation in which the hobby business has increased by 300 percent during the past decade. In addition, Grilldon has a very large population of retirees, a demographic with ample time to devote to hobbies. We therefore recommend that you choose southeastern Grilldon as the site for your next HobCo Hobby Shop. We predict that a shop in this area will draw a steady stream of enthusiastic new HobCo customers."

The corporation HobCo states that upon discovery, the city of Grilldon is wanting of hobby shops. On the premises of a myriad of assumptions, HobCo insinuates that the development of their avocation industries would reel in an ample amount of consumers. However, before this prediction introduces a plethora of proposals, it needs to be properly assessed. It is essential that the conclusion be fastidiously analyzed, the implications be methodically addressed, and the answers to two questions be fully obtained.

Firstly, it is stated that 88% of those who replied to the questionaire bolstered the idea of a hobby shop. How many people responded to this poll? Does this number properly reflect the city and do the responses give a just representation of the preferences of the society? For instance, assuming that only 100 people responded to this poll out of the 4000 individuals in the area, that means that only 88 people out of 4000 people in the city support this idea. This is a drastically insignificant representation of Grilldon. In order for the perception that intimates that majority of the population supports this hobby shop idea to be assessed, the corporation must obtain sufficient evidence regarding the populations. If these situations are valid, then the original supposition is severely attenuated.

The management also assumes that just because the hobby businesses have burgeoned by 300%, more people are interested in such an idea. Once again, similar to the population and percentage issue, there is a lack of concrete numbers in this situation as well. Not only is there a lack of numerical data, but also the reasoning behind such an increase. For instance, there might have been only one hobby shop previously, and now there are three. Now this might be a vast difference if the city is small; it also might be an insignificant burgeon if the city is behometh. Also why was there a 300% increase? Was it because there were more people enrolling in such a business or was it because there was a lack of it in specific parts of the city and to cover area, they decided to develop more buildings or hobby centers. Or it also could be that these hobbies are vastly different in terms of what they are offer. If any of these scenarios holds merit, the primary suggestion is drastically deteriorated.

Finally, the company assumes that their firm will be swarmed by the population of retirees due to the profuse time they have. How can it be certain that the retirees will remain in this city upon retirement or within the next few years, or even months? Perhap they will follow their life-long plan and jet off to Europe to spend their remaining days flocking around the great sights of the Eiffel Tower or the Leaning Tower of Pisa. Also, even if they do decide to remain in the city upon retirement, how can it be certain that they have ample time on their hands for a hobby? Perhaps performing such activities are not their priority and they would rather spend time playing with their grandchildren or watching televison, which can be considered a hobby, but would not require a store to execute this avocation. If this is true, then the presumption that the corporation holds is flawed.

The conclusion is blemished due to copious unjustified presumptions. If the author provides adequate evidence, cogent reasoning to corroborate his claim, and ample remedies to solve the inquiries, then a further explication of the proposal insinuating opening a business of a hobby shop in Grilldon is possible.