The following appeared in a memo from New Ventures Consulting to the president of HobCo, Inc., a chain of hobby shops.

"Our team has completed its research on suitable building sites for a new HobCo hobby Shop in the city of Grilldon. We discovered that there are currently no hobby shops in southeastern Grilldon. When our researchers conducted a poll of area residents, 88 percent of those who responded indicated that they would welcome the opening of a hobby shop in southeastern Grilldon. Grilldon is in a region of the nation in which the hobby business has increased by 300 percent during the past decade. In addition, Grilldon has a very large population of retirees, a demographic with ample time to devote to hobbies. We therefore recommend that you choose southeastern Grilldon as the site for your next HobCo Hobby Shop. We predict that a shop in this area will draw a steady stream of enthusiastic new HobCo customers."

According to the memo from New Ventures consultant the opening of the HonbCo chain shop in the city of Grilldon will have a predective positive result beacuse of the four following assumptions: no hooby shops in Grilldon and a higher percentage of residents response is positive, increase in percentage in hobby business throughout the nation and large population of retirees in thr city of Grilldon. But some claims are based certain assumptions which need to be answered,otherwise the conclusion drawn from those assumptions might fall apart.

At first, it is mentioned that according to the researcher conduct of survey, around 88 percent respond positive regarding the hobby shop in Grilldon. The assumption behind this survey, that the percentage mentioned is accurate and there is no fault in the data that is represented. If so, then it is necessary to mention how many people take part in the survey.For instance, if there are around 100 people and 88 percent respond positively then the response can be considered as positive whereas if there are thousands people and 88 percent of them respond positively then the conclusion that was drawn that the response is positive, will fall apart and in turn such response from people will be considered as negative. In that case, it should be explicity mentioned that how many people take part in the survey.

Secondly, the assumption was there was no hobby shop in Grilldon and national business has increased 300 percent in hobby. Here, the basis of comparision between national and region is completely absurd. Because it may happen that the hobby business is doing quite great in big cities and that's why the overall percentange has increased. Before claiming that the hobbby shop will do great in small, a business analysis in must regarding that purpose. Other factors, such as particularly at what place the shop should be opned so that all the regionl people get access to the shop and morover a financial analysis is mandatory in this regard whether revenue can be earned from the regional shop.

At last, there was an additional assumption that as the number of retirees population is greater in the city is higher,so they will spend most of their time in the shop. Before reaching the conclusion, it might be considered that all the retiree people may not prefer spending time in shop because of their health issues, rather they might prefer to stay at home. On the other hand, it might be intrepreated that as the number of retiree person is higher, the number of young people is lower and there is natural tendency among young people to spend leusire time alongside their study and job. So, before reaching the conclusion, the questions regarding the number of young people and health issues and preference related to retiree person must be answered.

Im conclusion, it is necessary to clarify the assumptions before reaching the conlcusion. If the consultant is able to condider the unanswered questions beneath the assumptions made by researchers and survey conduction, then only it would bb=e jusified for the president of HobCo Inc. to open their chain shop in the city of Grilldon.