Some people argue that successful leaders in government, industry, or other fields must be highly competitive. Other people claim that in order to be successful, a leader must be willing and able to cooperate with others.

There are three kinds of people in our society; thos who mostly lead, those who usually follow, and those who do not fall in either category. However, each individual's humor consists of at least some aspects of either traits. The author purports that cooperation overrules competition amongst the student population and the younger generation. I strongly disagree with the author's perspective and contend that sole cooperation amongst the society will help with the preparation of leadership for three reasons.

Everyone is a follower in some way and some form; leadership is an accolade. For instance, even George Washington, despite being the first president and officially the first leader of the United States, was a follower at some point in his life. However, he climbed his way to the ladder of success and obtained leadership qualities on the way there. While much of his journey consisted of compromise and benevolence, his leadership position, even if it was unwittingly, consisted of competition amongst his contemporaries. If there had not been a general competition amongst his peers, then it it unknown who would have taken his place in leading one of the most developed countries in the world. That is why competition enables prosperity.

Leadership requires a strong stance. A solid foundation is necessary for a puissant position; a capricious leader complying with his or her piers may waver in may decisions, therefore resulting in a tenuous premise of power. While compromise does not always consist of appeasing the adversaries or allies, a myriad of situations may portray such acquiesces. The more the young generation develop their temperance and intellect on the premise of competition, the tougher decision making skills will be and the ability to say no when needed will increase.

In today's inundated economy, competition is extremely high, and will remain so despite the abundance of cooperation amongst the society in the current and coming generation. For example, the job market for the legal field is oversaturated. If there was little competition, then the potential outlook would be attenuated. Therefore, to get the best and brightest employees, competition is essential.

While cooperation is essential amongst students and other individuals of the generation might lead to a peacful and wishful society and should not be eradicated, it will be a hindrance in locating strong leaders to direct the society. Many will be put on a armor of ingratiation and will be attenuated in the abilities to make sound and solid choices as a leader should. Therefore, I advocate that competition is significantly is the pinnacle of obtaining leadership qualities as competition helps to disparate those with the required adroitness to lead the society in the right direction.