The following report appeared in the newsletter of the West Meria Public Health Council.

"An innovative treatment has come to our attention that promises to significantly reduce absenteeism in our schools and workplaces. A study reports that in nearby East Meria, where fish consumption is very high, people visit the doctor only once or twice per year for the treatment of colds. Clearly, eating a substantial amount of fish can prevent colds. Since colds represent the most frequently given reason for absences from school and work, we recommend the daily use of Ichthaid—a nutritional supplement derived from fish oil—as a good way to prevent colds and lower absenteeism."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this report, the author claims that the daily use of Ichthaid can prevent cold and lower absenteeism. To support her argument, she cited a study reports that in nearby East Meria, where fish consumption is very high, people visit the doctor only once or twice per year for the treatment and points out other assumptions. Careful scrutiny reveals that this argument has several logical flaws.

First, based on the study reports in nearby East Meria, she hastily assumes that the number of treatment can is the result of high fish consumption. Common sense tells us, however, there are many factors that infection of cold. Perhaps, people in Meria could have a genetic trait which is beneficent for resisting against cold or have habits which wash their hands often. Until the author explains the reason why she thinks the lower cold incidence is followed by high fish consumption, this argument would be not proper.

Second, even if high fish consumption could affect the occurrence of cold, she improperly assumes that the Ichthaid is same as fish oil. In reality, there are many examples that the artificial chemical material derived from the original by changing a little part of original materials' chemical elements could have totally different effects or, even, side effects. If she cannot present us specified data about the effects of the dietary supplement, we cannot be convinced by this argument.

Finally, even if other problematic assumptions are true, there still is a most critical assumption. Is the most important cause of absenteeism cold? My answer is no. there are many reasons for people to absent schools and companies such as relatives' funeral or wedding, oversleeping or even other diseases. she has to explain the reason she thinks that the most frequent reason for absenteeism is cold to make her report more persuasive.

In conclusion, this report is dubious as it stands. To make this argument more precise, the author must give us data which is whether ichthaid and original fish oil have same the function and explain affection for high fish consumption on cold incidence. To rate better, we must know why she thinks that the most frequent reason for absenteeism is cold.