The following appeared in a health newsletter. (123, 125)

"A ten-year nationwide study of the effectiveness of wearing a helmet while bicycling indicates that ten years ago, approximately 35 percent of all bicyclists reported wearing helmets, whereas today that number is nearly 80 percent. Another study, however, suggests that during the same ten-year period, the number of bicycle-related accidents has increased 200 percent. These results demonstrate that bicyclists feel safer because they are wearing helmets, and they take more risks as a result. Thus, to reduce the number of serious injuries from bicycle accidents, the government should concentrate more on educating people about bicycle safety and less on encouraging or requiring bicyclists to wear helmets."

In this newsletter, the author claims that the government should educate people about bicycle safety rather than encouraging or requiring bicyclists to wear helmets. To supper her argument, she points out that the rate of people who wear helmets have increased from 35% to 80% during ten years and cited another study show that during the same ten-year period, the number of bicycle-rated accidents has increased 200%. Careful scrutiny reveals that this argument has several logical flaws.

To begin with, the author unfairly assumes that the increasing number of accidents is really substantiated.

However, if we statistically rate the number, that could be meaningless. Common sense tells us that the more number of users increases, the high number of accidents increase. until she presents specified data about the difference between the number of accidents per the same number of the person between the recent term and 10 years ago, this argument is not persuasive.

Second, the author hastily assumes that wearing helmets is related to the occurrence of accidents. In fact, using helmets is irrelevant to an occurrence of incidents. Rather than, the helmet is a kind of protective gears when the accidents occurred. If she cannot explain why she thinks using helmets is followed by increased accidents, this argument is not cogent

Finally, even if we admit other problematic assumptions are true, there is still a lethargic problem. based on the studies, the author hastily assumes that the main cause of increasing accidents is lack of training usage of bicycles. However, accidents could be occurred by other factors. For example, lack of proper facilities and infrastructure, or carelessness of car drivers or pedestrian could be factors of this case. If This is true, we cannot be convinced by this argument

In conclusion, this newsletter is dubious as it stands. To make this newsletter more persuasive, she has to explain that why she thinks increased accidents are a result of using helmets and present us specified data about the exact rate of the accidents. To evaluate better, we have to know whether the real factor of accidents is lack of education or not.