The following appeared in a memo from the business manager of a chain of cheese stores located throughout the United States.

"For many years all the stores in our chain have stocked a wide variety of both domestic and imported cheeses. Last year, however, all of the five best-selling cheeses at our newest store were domestic cheddar cheeses from Wisconsin. Furthermore, a recent survey by Cheeses of the World magazine indicates an increasing preference for domestic cheeses among its subscribers. Since our company can reduce expenses by limiting inventory, the best way to improve profits in all of our stores is to discontinue stocking many of our varieties of imported cheese and concentrate primarily on domestic cheeses."

In this memo, the business manager of a chain of cheese stores located throughout the United States claims that the chain of cheese stores can raise its profit by discontinuing stocking many of varieties of imported cheese and concentrating primarily on domestic cheese. To support her argument, she says that all of the five best-selling cheese at our newest store were domestic cheese. And she cites a recent survey by Cheeses of the World magazine indicates there is increasing preference for domestic cheeses among its subscribes. It seems plausible at first, however, careful scrutiny reveals that this argument has several logical problems.

To begin with, based on the fact that the its newest store's five best-selling items are all domestic cheese last year, the author hastily assumes that this selling case of last year will be same in the future. However, consuming pattern in the store could not continuous in the future. Common sense tells us that customer's preference for a kind of item is very changeable and easily affected by mass media and advertisements. Until she cannot rule out this problem, this argument is groundless.

Secondly, based on the above the same information, the author wrongly assumes that this newest store's best-selling cheese can represent popular items in all other stores of the chain. However, this store could be eccentric. For example, in the other stores, imported cheeses could be more popular than domestic or even, in other stores, customers could not totally buy domestic cheeses. If this is true, we cannot be convinced by this argument.

Thirdly, based on the survey which is conducted by Cheeses of the World magazine that indicates subscribes of the magazine prefer domestic cheeses, the author presumes that the result of survey can be representative the other customer of U.S.. However, they would not be common customer group. For example, other customers over the nation would not prefer domestic cheeses. If she cannot explain the result of survey can be applied to other customers over the nation, this argument is not based on right assumptions.

Finally, even if we admit that other problems is true, there is another critical problem. Based on the fact that the chain can can reduce its storage cost, the author assumes that the action will be beneficial to the chain. However, it could not be true. For example, there are many factors which affect a net profit of a business. If storing only domestic cheese has higher cost than storing both imported and domestic cheese or if opportunity cost of not selling imported cheeses is higher than selling imported cheeses, this action will result loss rather than profit.

To summarize, this argument is still dubious as it stands. To make this argument more persuasive, the author have to inspect the preference of customers over the nation and have to the selling pattern of the newest store is similar with other stores of the chain have to explain why she thinks the patter will be continuous in the future. To evaluate better, we have to know additional analyses about rate about cost to loss when the chain decided to discontinue sell imported cheeses