The following report appeared in the newsletter of the West Meria Public Health Council

An innovative treatment has come to our attention that promises to significantly reduce absenteeism in our schools and workplaces. A study reports that in nearby East Meria, where fish consumption is very high, people visit the doctor only once or twice per year for the treatment of colds. Clearly, eating a substantial amount of fish can prevent colds. Since colds represent the most frequently given reason for absences from school and work, we recommend the daily use of Ichthaid—a nutritional supplement derived from fish oil—as a good way to prevent colds and lower absenteeism."

In this report, the author of the newsletter of the West Meria Public Health Council claims that citizens of West Meria should daily use Ichthaid-a nutritional supplement derived from fish oil to lower absenteeism by preventing cold. To support her argument she cites a study which was conducted in East Meria show that the people of East Meria visit doctor once or twice a year and the amount of fish consumption of East Meria is very high. And she assumes that Ichthaid which However, careful scrutiny reveals that this argument has several logical flaws.

To begin with, based on the study which indicates that the lower number of visiting doctor is related to the amount of fish consumption, she hastily assumes that the eating many fish can prevent cold. However, there is a possibility that the reason of lower occurrence of cold in East Meria is not because of eating substantial amount of fish. For example, genetic characteristics of people in East Meria naturally have benefit of preventing cold or another outside factor such as clear atmosphere or water could affect the lower frequency of visiting doctor. If this is true, this argument is not persuasive.

Secondly, even if we admit the fish consumption affect people's health, there is another problem. Based on the only fact that Ichthaid is derived from fish oil, she wrongly assumes that the supplement show same effect with natural fish. Common sense tells us that even if an artificial chemical comes from natural chemical, only one or little change in chemical trait gives large different effect the artificial chemical. For example, many steroid drugs show big chemical similarity with Testosterone or Estrogen, but they give side effect to human body. If she cannot explain why she thinks the Ichthaid shows same effect of natural fish oil, this argument is not cogent.

Finally, even if other problem is true, there is another critical problem. She hastily assumes that the only reason why people are absent is cold. However, this might not be true. There are many reason why people do absent. For example, rush hour or overslept can be reason of absenteeism or even, another disease such as headache, stomaches can be reason. If this is true, we cannot be convinced by this argument.

To summarize, this argument is still dubious as it stands. To make this argument more strong, the author have to show us data about cause of lower number of visiting doctor in East Meria and show that there is no difference in effect of Ichthaid with natural fish. To rate this argument better, we have to know that the exact reason of absenteeism in West Meria