Milk and dairy products are rich in vitamin D and calcium—substances essential for building and maintaining bones. Many people therefore say that a diet rich in dairy products can help prevent osteoporosis, a disease that is linked to both environmental and genetic factors and that causes the bones to weaken significantly with age. But a long-term study of a large number of people found that those who consistently consumed dairy products throughout the years of the study have a higher rate of bone fractures than any other participants in the study. Since bone fractures are symptomatic of osteoporosis, this study result shows that a diet rich in dairy products may actually increase, rather than decrease, the risk of osteoporosis.

In this article, the author claims that dairy products such as milk are factors of osteoporosis, not inhibitor.

To support her argument, she cites recent researches which show that among participants, participants who have continuously ate dairy food for years have a higher rate of bone damage which is symptom of osteoporosis. However, careful scrutiny reveals that this argument has several logical problems.

To begin with, citing the research, she hastily assumes that the only reason for bone damage in experiment is dietary habit which is to prefer dairy food. However, this might not be true. For example, as the author mentioned, people who have higher rate of bone fracture could be affected by genetic factor or other food which they ate during experiment and could be harmful to bone. If this is true, this argument is not cogent.

Second, even if we admit the problem resolved, there is another problem. she assumes that the bone fracture is a representative symptom of osteoporosis. This could not be truth. It could be symptom of another disease which related to bone. If she cannot explain why she thinks we can diagnose osteoporosis by bone fracture, her argument is not persuasive.

Third, citing the long-term research, the author assumes that the participants' health state have been constant for long term. As the author mentioned above, osteoporosis is very related to aging. As time passes, the participants aged, then the rate of occurrence of the disease could raise regardless of other factor such as diet, genetic factor. Until she explain the data by grouping people who are similar ages, we cannot be convinced by this argument.

To summarize, this argument is still dubious as it stands. To make this argument more persuasive, the author have to give us another data which shows that the people who prefer dairy food are not affected by other factor or other people who have similar condition with the group, except not eating dairy food, has lower rate of occurrence of the disease. And she have explain the reason why she concluded the people who have bone fracture is patient who are having or will having bone osteoporosis. Moreover, to rate more exactly, we have know that the result of the experiment may not result from naturally aging participants.