The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of movie-rental stores.

"In order to stop the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten movie-rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 P.M. rather than 9:00 P.M. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. By implementing similar changes in our other stores, Movies Galore can increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices."

In this memorandum,, the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of movie-rental stores, claims that the all stores of Movies Galore have to changing their closing time from 9 P.M. to 6 P.M. to improve the chain's profit, not harming the chain's reputation for offering great movies at low prices. To support her argument, she reports an example of store which changed its closing time and eliminates all stocks which was released before more than five years and says that the store can decrease the operating expenses. And she assumes that raising rental fee is not improper way to make more profit. This argument seems plausible first, however, careful scrutiny reveals that this argument has several logical flaws.

To begin with, based on the fact that the store in Marston changed its operating time and it can reduce operating expenses, the author assumes that reducing operating time can make significant increase in profit. However the action cannot be efficient. Common sense tells us that people usually do cultural life after they come back from work place or schools when it is often after 6P.M. So, this action could be lead the people not to visit the stores. until the author rule out this problem, this argument is groundless.

Secondly, based on the fact that the store in Marston eliminate its stock which have released before more than five years old and its operating cost decreased, the author assumes that not to store the old movies can overall profit of the other store. However, it cannot be true. For example, even if the operating cost decreases, the people who live in Marston prefer to lending old movies rather than new movies, the store's overall income will decrease. If this is true, we cannot be convinced by this argument.

Thirdly, even if we admit that lowering operating expenses could be helpful to financial state of the store, there is another problem. Based on the fact the store can decrease operating costs by doing some remedies, the author assumes that the remedies also effective in other stores of the chain. However, it could not work in other region. Generally, pattern of purchasing items of customers depends on each region. People of one region would prefer old movies or people of another region would prefer new movies or people of other region prefer both of them. If she cannot explain why she thinks conditions of all other stores is similar, this argument is not persuasive.

To summarize, this argument is still dubious as it stands. To make this argument more cogent, the author have to give additional information which indicates that decreasing operating expenses can raise overall benefit of the store in Marston by doing those solutions for bad financial state. To evaluate better, we have to know that why she thinks the solutions in Marston's store will also effective in other stores of the chain.