The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of movie-rental stores.

"In order to stop the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten movie-rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 P.M. rather than 9:00 P.M. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. By implementing similar changes in our other stores, Movies Galore can increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices."

While the owner of Movies Galore clearly aims at reducing operating expenses because of the recent decline in profits, there are several basic flaws to his or her argument. There remain some questions that need an answer before any further step can be taken by the owner and the staffs in order to reduce expenses.

First among these questions is: how much money they can earn by reducing their time’s operation from 9 p.m. to 6 p.m. or this action could make the things worse? This is an essential question because it helps to indicate a big error that the owner may are be taking. To explain better, people watch a movie when they have available time during their leisure time. As most of the people work or study during daytime is normal that they prefer and have time to see a movie only at night. So, closing early at night the store is not going to help to solve their issue with more profits. This is because people usually make their plans about what they want to do on that day during their leisure time, during breaks, meals, after-jobs, etc. Consequently, how can one rent a movie in the evening if the store is closed? For this reason, if the owner needs to cut time’s operation, it might be better to open the store later than closing earlier.

Another relevant consideration is to identify what are the good reasons for reducing its stock by eliminating old movies if has any reason. How can this help to keep or raise the profits? Do they need more room and does not have it or are they going to rent a part of the store for other business to save and make more money? All these questions are important and should be answered before taking any action. Further, it is understandable that each person has a different preference for movies and usually, they prefer to watch a newly released movie instead of an old one. But that does not mean that consumers do not watch classical, epics movies anymore that had done a great success in the past and still does with the new and old generation. In this list, it is possible to cite movies such as Harry Potter, The Lord of the Rings trilogy, White Chicks, Godfather and so many other films from past decades that still do a big success in this business and people watch more than one time.

One last question is: people are not renting less movies from physical stores and renting more online? To answer this question, the owner and his or her staffs should make a research considering and comparing information from the last years with the present. Nowadays, it is noticeable consumers prefer to rent a movie online using cellphones or computer because easier, has a great range of films and genres and take less time to do it. For this reason, an inevitable decline of profits will occur and the owner, independently of saving money from cutting off operating expenses or maintain excellent offers of rent at low prices, need to find another way to increase profits, such as, put in the same of the rental-movies store, a cafeteria or selling also electronics, books, etc.

In conclusion, the owner would be better served by first answering these questions and evaluating the resulting answers before making some wrong decision. Besides, it is relevant to understand the real business market of movie-rental stores and see if it is still a good business.