Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

In a world full of problems everyone should do things to help to mitigate these issues by their own free will. Corporations must work under the law and it is necessary they fulfill it, while they are trying to make money and survive in a difficult world’s economy, with highs and lows. The responsibility to promote the well-being for citizens and environments refer to governments through laws and inspections and we can not exclude the government to its role.

It is true that if everyone does a little of effort to help the environment and the well-being of a society, the world would be in a better and safe place to live, having less problem with pollution, criminality, and immigration. But it is important to notice that our governments are the biggest responsible for our environment and society, making sure that any citizen or company fulfill the laws.

Governments, police and other agencies are responsible to make sure their population is having a good education, health care, workplace safety, healthy environment and so on. It is their function to supervise people and companies if they are after the rules. One of the ways is policing them and sue if it is necessary.

Besides it, corporations are in the market to make money, increase their economy and power through their deals. Companies exist to create jobs and help to develop cities, states or a country with money through taxes, and so, they are trying to make as much money as possible. Anyway, it is important for these corporations to invest to help the society and/or the environment, because it could attract more deals, that is profit for the company, making its market seeing with good eyes the corporation, working as a symbiosis: companies help a society and the environment where they run and the society buy or sell theirs stuffs, guaranteed a cycle of profits. Thus, it is not a corporate responsibility.

In conclusion, responsible for the well-being of a population and the environment belongs to a government and its agencies. When a company it is not after the rules and the agreements, the governor must obey them to do what is right and good for society, independently of how big it is this corporation and how much money they pay for taxes, helping the developing of a city.