The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of movie-rental stores.

"In order to stop the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten movie-rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 P.M. rather than 9:00 P.M. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. By implementing similar changes in our other stores, Movies Galore can increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The following argument is flawed for a few reasons. The primary fallacy is that the argument is based on the unwarranted assumption that implements only one method by cutting operating expenses that can improve profits, rendering its main conclusion that all other stores should use the strategies that can stop the profits decline.

The argument fails to provide justification that cutting costs can increase the company profits. there could be many other reasons why the company profits decline recently. For example, a lot of people changes their watching movie habit by purchasing movie online because of its convenience. it allows them to stay home to enjoy the movie and save time to go to the store. therefore, if that is the case, the assumption that stops the recent decline profit by closing stores early and eliminating old movies stock is invalid. In order to increase the company profits, the argument would have to investigate the true reason further what contributes to the profits decline and develop an effective strategy target the specific problem.

The argument also leaves other unwarranted questions. even if reduce operating cost can stop the decline in profits in the downtown store, it is not necessarily other stores can be benefited by using similar strategies. For instance, the operating expenses, such as electricity or staff salary, are usually the most expensive in downtown than in other areas. therefore, closing stores early may not helpful in cost control in areas outside the downtown. Moreover, there are many good old movies which customers may have ever watched because of some reasons (e.g., busy work schedule). even if they have watched those old movies, it does not mean that they are not going to rewatch it with friends and family. many classic movies are still popular even after 10 or 15 years! The argument would have to prove further that these cost control strategies are likely to benefits in all stores.

In conclusion, because of the argument makes several unwarranted assumptions, it fails to make a convincing argument that implements cost control can increase company profits in all stores.