Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

Leadership is one of the hot topics in the last decade and it is believed to be an essential ability as a successful leader. Scientists postulate various qualities of which an effective leader should obtain. Some people may believe that the ability to make a moral judgment is vital and supreme compared to other characteristics. However, it can be argued that it is always important to maintain the respect of others as an effective leader.

Firstly, a group leader is a model of his or her peers' in a group. Very often, the group members would be influenced by their group leader's attitude and imitate his or her behavior and carry out the concept of their group leader. For example, if a leader always interrupts the speaker's speech and rebuke them because they hold an oppositive opinion without taking account in which everyone has their own value and perspective. Consequently, his or her group members might believe the act of interrupting others could be justified if they objectively think they have a legitimate reason to do so. Therefore, if everyone acts the same way in a discussion, it is less likely to deliver a constructive conclusion to solve a problem. Even worse, it can lead to conflict and engender hatred between members among those conceive different remarks.

Secondly, being able to listen to different voices can brainstorm a new idea in problem-solving and promote coherence. No matter how sagacious a group leader he or she is, their own decision might not always productive and beneficial to the group. For instance, if a leader is dictatorial and subjective, which does not consider other group members' opinion. Whenever the leader needs the second opinion, or he or she made a mistake unintentionally, even though other group members have some ideas regarding the issue, but because of the arrogant attitude of the group leader, they might choose to remain silent or even "get the popcorn" and watch the conflict arise. Since the group leader does not respect other members, he or she also unable to gain respect in others. If a group is lacking coherence, it is believed that the group is unable to work thing out and solve a problem effectively and efficiently.

Though, moral judgment can be overridden respect to others on some occasions, especially when the leader is facing a dilemma, which both sides seem legitimate. Therefore, besides the ability to respect other's right, making a moral judgment allows the leader to evaluate the courses of the rational, action, and situation in terms of morality, to yield a proper decision to satisfy both parties. Nevertheless, being respectful is also one of the considerations in making a moral judgment.

In conclusion, the ability to respect others serves as a vital factor to maintain the coherence in one group, as a group leader, being able to be a paragon to respect his or her group members is a fundamental element to determine a group success.