1. The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The following argument is flawed for numerous reasons. Primarily, two studies used different research approaches of which they cannot compare with each other, rendering the conclusion that dr. field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid.

Firstly, the study conducted by dr. field was an observation-centered approach, which is a different approach compared to dr. Karp's study-an interview-centered approach, which is difficult to compare as they did not use the same study method. For example, dr. field observed children in tertia how do they interact with the people living in the same village rather than only focus on the children interact with their parents. On the other hand, dr. Krap used an interview approach to ask children questions about how do they interact with others. we do not know what kind of questions in the interview; the questions could be merely focused on a parent-child relationship and/or an entire village. Therefore, in order to know whether children are reared by an entire village or merely by their parents, we need to know both the study procedure and the detail of the study.

Secondly, there are 20 years time difference between these two studies; it could be a great change in terms of tertia's culture and lifestyle. For instance, twenty years ago, the culture in tertia tend to be collective, which tertia would take care of each other who live in the same village. However, after 20 years, people in tertia might change their attitude and belief since they may influence from other cultures that a parent-child relationship is more important so that parents in tertia may prefer rear their own children, rather than rely on other their relative.

Because the argument makes several unwarranted assumptions, it fails to make a convincing case that children in tertia are merely reared by their biological parents.