The following is a recommendation from the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company.

"Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate of the course was able to read a five-hundred-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy Read costs only $500 per employee - a small price to pay when you consider the benefits to Acme. Included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter. Clearly, Acme would benefit greatly by requiring all of our employees to take the Easy Read course."

The following argument is flawed for numerous reasons. Primarily, the argument is based on the unwarranted assumption that "the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday," rendering the conclusion that the course would benefit all the employees who take the course.

The argument fails to provide any justification that taking the course can improve productivity. Firstly, the argument states the course greatly improved productivity but fails to provide additional information about how does the course improves employees' productivity that benefits the company. Although the argument mentions that a graduate student can able to read a fice-hundred-page report in two hours, it does not mean that the reading ability can improve company sales and business. Moreover, the argument also states that another graduate student got promoted after taking this course. Nevertheless, the reason for this student got promoted might not necessarily be linked to the course; it may be other reasons such as his/her impressive performance. In order to strengthen the argument, more information is needed, such as how the course direct influences company sales and employees' productivity.

Secondly, even if the success of these two students results from the reading course, it does not mean that all employees can also be successful after taking the course. The small amount of success has not enough statistical power to assume all employees can be successful after the course. Additionally, the argument assumes that the faster people can read, the more information people can absorb within a day. However, even if the person can read as much information within one single day, it does not mean that the student can also retain all the information he/she has learned from yesterday.

In conclusion, the argument makes several unwarranted assumptions; it fails to make a convincing argument that the course would greatly benefit all employees and improve productivity.