Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

As Gandhi said in his struggle for freedom,' Without our comrades, independence would have been a long lost dream.'

Although a remarkable leader, there had been many instances where Gandhiji found it difficult to exercise his moral judgements which would inturn disrespect his fellow peers during independence struggle. There are many reasons why sound moral judgement takes precedence over respecting your peers. Such as - Moral judgment by the masses and moral judgement by an individual is subject to variance. For eg; morally speaking state sponsered execution or hanging of an individual for crimes against society personally makes me feel is a wrongdoing. But when mob mentality is brought into this equation, hanging is usually not considered a wrongdoing.

Second, as a leader it is the leaders responsibility to set a precedent to his peers that in tough situations leaders have to take tough decisions. Lastly, it is always the leader who is held responsible for the decisions taken by him. This is what makes the decision making process personal.

There are also some arguements against the above thesis. Such as - Though how much ever knowledgable a leader is, it is always better to have many brains involved in solving a problem than only one brain. A leader may not be able to envisage all the dimensions of problem.

Second, by not taking into consideration his peers advice, he might also instigate a feeling of being undermined by their leader amongst the peers. This is considered a bad news for unity of team. Therefore, respecting peers bring a sense of unity amongst the group collectively.

In the end, a leader has to understand the complexity of problem he is dealing with and accordingly take help from his peers to understand the various approaches to solve the problem. This will help him shape his judgement in such a way that it will be an answer straight from his heart and he is also the one convinced with his answer.