Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader it is not as important as a leader s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers

Morality is one of the main characteristics of a true leader on whom the citizen's can rely. In fact, the value of a leader is increased due to fair or transparent ruling and peoples also venerate him for long term . The prompt recommends that the leader should judge everyone on basis of law because in this way citizen can have faith on leaders. In my opinion, i strongly disagrees with this suggestion and argue that an effective leader should posses moral judgement rather than gaining respect of his peers for two reasons.

To begin , character of a person is always valued more than anything. Thus , the moral judgement is always appreciated to the eyes of citizens because they play a role model in front of them. For instance, a nation falls different critical situation where they are biased by various external threats and this is the time where the effective leader arises with his experience and intuition . Judgement is the leaders main weapon at the time of need. We can see various story regarding the moral judgement of a true leader. Mahatta Gandi was a true effective leader who used his intuition and faith on its citizens and gained victory.From the above example we can see that person are influenced by their judgement not by the respect of their peers.

Further, an important position like leaders are always affected by negative comments. Leaders are criticized for their moves . If the move was not satisfactory to the citizen then they are hated . So if the decision is only supported by the close peers and abhors by the general people then it does not have good effect on his leadership. An effective leader is he who can make both parties placate. For Instance, the recent incident regarding police arrest of an american black citizen and the tragic death plays a vital example where the judgement can be seen as the quality of an effective leader. It is known to all that racism plays hindrance to the economical growth and a nation losing a lot due to this . From the above example we can interpret that to gain respect from citizen we need to be morally strong .

Of course, some argue that if we can get respect from our peers and they help us giving different ideas then we can get better judgmental thoughts. But at the end of the day its you who is choosing which to accept or reject. The respect is earned through your decision not by flattery otherwise someday it will backfire. So an effective leader must value his own decision rather than how to gain respect from his peers.