"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned wit

The maneger stated that to avoid loosing any further advertising revenues the Television station should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its formal level. The manager suggested this because of the complain received from viewers with station's coverage of weather and local news. However, before this recommendation can be properly evaluated, three answer must be answered.

First of all, is the time reduction is by only few minutes or many hours? In other words, may be the time of national news telecast is increased by ten or more minutes. For example : the time can be increased by few more minutes due to national emergency news so it's not that big if there is little reduction of time for local and weather news.If either of the scenarios has merit, then conclusion drawn from the original argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, is there any new television station started ? The manager doesn't mention anything like this . This may be the case for cancelling their advertisement contracts with the TV station . The advertisement agency may be got more facilities with less price to show the advertisement for the new tv station as they are escalating their performance. If the above is true, then the argument does not hold water.

Thirdly, are the qualities of the weather and local news degrading? It may be possible that anchors of these two show are not quite good in their job . So the viewers are not attracted by their news as a result lowering of late night viewers. If thats the case then the conclusion suggested by manager is flawed.

In conclusion, the statement , as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the manager is able to answer the three questions above and offer more evidence then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation to restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.