Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically.

Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza.

There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza.

If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels.

The following argument is flawed based on the unwarranted assumption that the decreasing business in central plaza is a direct result of an increase in skateboarding, which renders its prediction that business in the central plaza will return to its previously high levels if skateboarding is banned in the plaza.

First of all, central plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. However, there is no existing evidence indicating the decreasing business is a direct result of the skateboard users. For instance, it could be a result of a new shopping mall opening next to the plaza, or the service of central plaza store owners/staff could not satisfy the customers. Moreover, the argument states that skateboarding has increased dramatically, but it does not indicate that the number of skateboard users in the plaza has also increased. More significantly, the argument also does not indicate the location of the skateboarding in the plaza. The skateboard users may use only part of the plaza where distances from those business stores, which seems the impact can be very least compared to skateboarding all over in the plaza and possible to injury customers. if that is the case, it is hard to tell if the skateboarding in the plaza affects the business of central plaza stores.

The argument also leaves other unanswered questions. Even if the number of skateboard users has increased in the plaza, the users may simply enjoy the game and then go home. Nevertheless, the argument assumes that the dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism in the plaza is due to skateboarding in the plaza. Again, there is no direct evidence indicating skateboard users throw litter anywhere and damage the property. it could be a result of drunk customers from pubs in the plaza or some uncivilized tourists who damage the public property and misbehaves in the plaza.

Because the argument makes several unwarranted assumptions, it fails to make a convincing case that the decreasing business in central plaza is due to skateboarding.