The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The letter concludes that the shoppers in the Central Plaza would increase if skateboarding is removed. It is also assumed that the number of skateboard users has been increasing rapidly which is the main reason for the decrease in the business of Central Plaza. I shall suggest ways to improve the reasoning so that the argument has some validity.

First of all, the argument assumes that as the skateboard users are increased which is why the business has been reduced but when we think deeply about the given assumption this might be one of the reason because it is not mentioned in the argument whether the skateboarding is free of the cost or charges fee for the users and whether there are any timings for skateboarding or not since there is no clear description about the time and charges to be paid assuming it be free so youth and kids might be more interested in skateboarding than to shopping.

Second, the argument has mentioned that there is a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza so this could be one of the main reason for the decrease of the shoppers because of the lack of cleanliness and hygiene in the mall and prejudicial of private property which leads to a disturbance for shoppers.

Hence I conclude that the reasoning is flawed, the decrease of shoppers is due to litter and vandalism it is one of the main causes and no cost skateboarding. I believe that the argument would vastly improve if there is clear description about the charges on skateboarding and the amount of litter.