To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

In context to the contemporary world, to know all the facts about society one should study the major cities which are being the backbone for development in both the social and economical aspects of the country. There is a population increase in the major cities everyone is moving from rural areas to urban cities for a modern and better life so studying major cities would help to know about the features of society. For instance, there are many kinds of people and different kinds of lives in one place this would help to know even better about society.

To begin with, all the major cities have many kinds of people who came to the city for a living, by understanding them we can ensure what impact that everyone has about society and what impact did society has in their lives and all of them have their opinion about the government and ruling the nation and what changes have been made by the government for the improvement of society. Additionally, most of the colleges and educational institutions besides them many job offers are present in the cities and hence they are the different kinds of lives in cities being rich or poor, educated or uneducated they are many lives in one place to understand society.

On the other hand, countries like India in which major occupation of the country is agriculture and even modern society depends on agriculture to sustain so we should surely understand people in rural areas and the social customs and values tend to more in rural backdrop than in cities.

In short, there is a need to understand the major cities in order to know the characteristics of a society, however, this may not be necessarily true where certain social customs and values are present in rural areas.