The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner."Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The letter from Central Plaza store owner suggests to prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza to restore it as a shopping arena. We humans always have nature to cover up over own defeats by blaming other external circumstances. Though skate boarding may be one of the factor in the abate of number of shoppers there may be several other intrinsic and extrinsic actors which impact the intensity of shoppers in Central Plaza.

One of the factor may be the increase in a number of modern malls around the area of Central Plaza may have an intense effect on the shops in Central Plaza. As time progresses every business has to adopt itself to suit to the current trends, in failing to do so they may face downfall sometime or the other. These modern malls have ability to allure the customers with their amenities and discounts where as owners at the Central Plaza may not be successful in attracting customers.

Though skateboarding may cause a negative effect among few shoppers, there are also people who visit these areas just to see skaters perform their stunts and enjoy. So, we can't say that removing skateboarding from Central Plaza is directly proportional to number of shoppers visiting.

To conclude, in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result we should answer the following questions:

1. Are there any new malls or shopping alternatives which are open in the past two years near the Central Plaza area?

2. Are the businesses in Central Plaza flexible enough to change in customer needs and attracting customers with modern methods?

3. Does skateboarding only cause negative effect or there are people coming to watch skateboarders perform their stunts which has a positive impact on shops in Central Plaza?

4. Are other factors such as lack of parking area, neatness causing people to move away from PLaza"